Country Flag

Micronesia (Federated States of)

110.00 k
Micronesia, officially the Federated States of Micronesia, is a sovereign island country in the Pacific Ocean. It consists of more than 600 islands and islets in four states: Yap, Chuuk, Kosrae, and Pohnpei. The capital and largest city is Palikir, on the island of Pohnpei. The country has a population of approximately 110,000 and a total area of around 702 square kilometers. The official languages are English, Micronesian, and Nauruan. The country has a diverse culture, with influences from indigenous Micronesian, Japanese, and American traditions. The economy is primarily based on fishing, tourism, and financial assistance from the United States.