Country Flag

Equatorial Guinea

1.31 million
Equatorial Guinea, officially the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, is a country located in Central Africa. It is bordered by Cameroon to the north, Gabon to the south and east, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. The country consists of two main islands, Bioko and the mainland, and several smaller islands. The capital and largest city is Malabo, located on Bioko Island. The official languages are Spanish and Portuguese, and the country has a diverse population of around 1.2 million people. Equatorial Guinea has a tropical climate and is known for its rich natural resources, including oil, natural gas, and timber. The country has a long history of colonial rule, and gained independence in 1968. Today, Equatorial Guinea is a presidential republic and has a developing economy.