Country Flag

North Macedonia

2.08 million
North Macedonia, officially the Republic of North Macedonia, is a country located in the Balkan peninsula in southeastern Europe. It was previously known as the Socialist Republic of Macedonia and then the Republic of Macedonia before changing its name in 2019. The country shares borders with Serbia to the north, Kosovo to the northeast, Albania to the west, Greece to the south, and Bulgaria to the east. The capital and largest city is Skopje, and the official languages are Macedonian and Albanian. The country has a diverse geography, including mountains, valleys, and lakes, and a rich cultural heritage, including ancient ruins and medieval monasteries. The economy is primarily based on services, with a growing manufacturing sector, and the country is a candidate for membership in the European Union and NATO.