Country Flag


484.63 k
Malta is a small island nation located in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Italy. It is made up of three main islands: Gozo, Comino, and the largest island, Malta. The country has a rich history, with evidence of human habitation dating back to around 5900 BC. Malta has been ruled by various empires and powers throughout the centuries, including the Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Romans, Arabs, Normans, and the British. The country gained independence from the UK in 1964 and has since become a republic. Today, Malta is a popular tourist destination known for its beautiful beaches, clear blue waters, and historic sites such as the Megalithic Temples of Ggantija and the Fortress of Mdina. The country also has a thriving economy, with a focus on financial services, online gaming, and tourism.