Country Flag

Solomon Islands

652.86 k
The Solomon Islands are a sovereign state located in the Pacific Ocean. The country consists of six major islands and over 900 smaller islands, with a total land area of approximately 28,450 square kilometers. The capital and largest city is Honiara, located on the island of Guadalcanal. The Solomon Islands have a diverse culture, with influences from both Melanesian and Polynesian traditions. The official languages are English and Solomon Islands Pidgin, and the country has a population of around 600,000 people. The economy is primarily based on agriculture, fishing, and mining, with a growing tourism industry. The Solomon Islands are known for their rich natural resources, including forests, minerals, and marine life, and are home to several active volcanoes.