Country Flag


15.01 million
Somalia, officially known as the Federal Republic of Somalia, is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Ethiopia to the west, Djibouti to the northwest, and Kenya to the southwest. The country has a diverse geography, with a long coastline along the Indian Ocean and a rugged interior that includes highlands, plateaus, and deserts. The capital and largest city is Mogadishu. Somalia has a population of around 15 million people and the official languages are Somali and Arabic. The country has a rich cultural heritage, with a history dating back to ancient times. However, it has been plagued by political instability and conflict for decades, including a civil war that began in 1991 and continues to this day. Despite these challenges, Somalia has made progress in recent years, including the establishment of a federal government and the adoption of a new constitution. The country is also home to a diverse wildlife, including elephants, lions, and giraffes.