Country Flag


575.99 k
Suriname, officially known as the Republic of Suriname, is a country located in South America. It is bordered by Guyana to the west, French Guiana to the east, and Brazil to the south. The country has a diverse population, with a mix of ethnic groups including East Indian, African, and indigenous peoples. The official language is Dutch, but many other languages are also spoken, including English, Sranan Tongo, and various indigenous languages. The capital and largest city is Paramaribo. Suriname has a tropical rainforest climate and is known for its rich biodiversity and natural resources, including timber, gold, and oil. The country has a long history of colonial rule, first by the Dutch and then by the British, and gained independence in 1975. Today, Suriname is a democratic republic with a developing economy and a growing tourism industry.