Country Flag


103.20 k
Tonga, officially known as the Kingdom of Tonga, is a Polynesian sovereign state and archipelago located in the Pacific Ocean. It consists of 169 islands, of which 36 are inhabited, and covers an area of approximately 748 square kilometers. The capital and largest city is Nuku'alofa, located on the main island of Tongatapu. The country has a population of around 106,000 people and a diverse culture influenced by its history of Polynesian, Melanesian, and European colonization. Tonga is known for its beautiful beaches, coral reefs, and traditional island culture, as well as its modern infrastructure and economy based on agriculture, fishing, and tourism. The country is also home to the Royal Family, which has ruled Tonga since the 19th century.