Country Flag


82.32 million
Turkey is a country located in Western Asia, with a small portion in Southeastern Europe. It is bordered by Greece and Bulgaria to the west, Georgia to the northeast, Armenia and Azerbaijan to the east, and Iran, Iraq, and Syria to the southeast. The country is surrounded by seas on three sides: the Aegean Sea to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Black Sea to the north. Turkey is a democratic, secular, and parliamentary republic with a diverse cultural heritage. The official language is Turkish, and the country has a population of around 82 million people. The capital and largest city is Ankara, while the largest city and cultural center is Istanbul. Turkey has a diverse geography, with mountains, forests, and coastal plains, and is home to a wide range of flora and fauna. The country has a developing economy and is a member of the G-20 major economies.